Kerala Polls: High Drama In Puthuppalli, Kottayam District

Kerala Polls: High drama in Puthuppalli amid speculation of Chandy contesting from Nemom constituency.

Former Chief Minister Oommen Chandy received heavy drama on Saturday at Puthuppalli, his home constituency in Kottayam district, amid speculation that he would contest from Nemom in the April 6 assembly election.

Congress workers present there staged a protest near his house and threatened to commit suicide if he left the region and contested from elsewhere.

Nemom constituency is a suburb in Thiruvananthapuram district and is the only seat where a BJP candidate is elected.

A large number of party workers and followers, including women, gathered near her house since morning and raised slogans, saying they would not let their long-time MLA from Puthuppalli contest in any other constituency.

Shock to the Kerala government, cases against MLAs will not be returned.

The Vijayan government has received a setback from the High Court ahead of the Kerala Assembly elections.

The Kerala High Court on Friday dismissed the state government’s plea to withdraw the case lodged against the six MLAs of the Left in the 2015 assembly ruckus and damage to government property.

The state government had appealed to the High Court against the decision of the Chief Judicial Magistrate’s Court at Thiruvananthapuram.

The CJM court not only rejected the demand to withdraw the case against these MLAs but also asked everyone to face trial.

Those accused include Industries Minister EP Jayarajan and Higher Education Minister Katie Jalil. The left party was then in opposition.

When the then Finance Minister was presenting the budget in the House for the next financial year, these legislators created a lot of uproar and sabotage, which resulted in a huge loss of government property.

Kerala Polls: Let us know that recently the Election Commission had announced the dates for the assembly elections in the state. Elections are to be held in 140 assembly seats in Kerala.

The outgoing assembly has eight female legislators and the remaining 132 male legislators. The term of the Government of Kerala is to end on June 1, 2021.

Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil Arora said that there were 21,498 election centers in Kerala, now the number of election centers will be 40,771.

Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil Arora informed that elections will be held in Kerala on 6 April. There will be simultaneous elections to 140 seats in the state. The counting of votes will take place on 2 May.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2022 DNN All Rights Reserved