IAF Committed To Induct 6 LCA Mark2 Fighter Squadrons

IAF committed to induct 6 LCA Mark2 fighter squadrons, says Air Chief VR Choudhary.

Fully supporting the indigenous fighter aircraft programs, Air Chief Marshal VR Chaudhari on Monday said that the Indian Air Force has already made its commitment to procure six squadrons under the development of the LCA Mark II fighter jets.

He said that more orders will be placed for these aircraft once production starts.

Decision on additional numbers after production starts.

Air Chief Marshal VR Choudhary told the news agency, “The Indian Air Force has already committed to induct six squadrons of Light Combat Aircraft Mark II fighter jets.”

We will decide on the additional numbers once the production of these aircraft starts.

IAF places orders for four squadrons of LCA Mark 1A.

The IAF has already placed orders for four squadrons of the LCA Mark 1A and is committed to inducting at least seven squadrons of the fifth generation Indian fighter Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft (AMCA), which is progressing very rapidly.

The LCA Mark 2 fighter is set to replace the Mirage 2000 and Jaguar fighters when they are due to be phased out after a decade.

Consideration to include aircraft under Make in India.

Sharing details on IAF’s plans for future induction, Air Chief Marshal Chowdhury had said that the force is only looking at inducting aircraft under the Make in India plan which includes LCA Mark 1A, LCA Mark 2.

The AMCA comprises 114 multi-role fighter aircraft.

Weapon systems to be made in India.

The IAF has also decided that all its future surface-to-air surface-to-surface weapon systems will be made in India. A large number of indigenous radars have already been deployed in operational areas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2023 DNN All Rights Reserved